Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarkSL
Helper V
Helper V

Trying to understand Power BI Server and SSRS.

Hi,

I am new to Power BI and have been asked to look at he benefits of going with Power BI Server...

From my initial readings, it seems the advantages are that we can brand the dashboard as our own, as well as host both our Power BI Dashboards and reports alongide our existing SSRS reports in a single web portal, with Power BI Server essentially superceeding SSRS?  I have a few queries regarding the SSRS Reports.  

1, Will Power BI Report Server essentially replace the need for our exisiting SSRS Report Home?  Is it just a case of deploying our .rld reports and data sources to the BI Report Server?  

2, Can we still maintain folder security for the report?

3, Can I still schedule (subscribe) the reports to run and email to users as and when we choose?

4, Can the reports to continue to run, via stored procedure calls to our SQL server database?  I think I read that they must connect to a SSAS instance?

Thanks in advnace for any thoughts.

Mark

10 REPLIES 10
umeshlade

how to use reportexecution2005.asmx to download power BI report
P3UAL
Frequent Visitor

Does anyone know or have experience with Power BI Report Server and SSRS automation? We have SSRS at the moment and we automated the execution of reports using SOAP and ReportExecution Class (ReportExecution2005). Wondering if this service is part of Power BI Report Server?

dexterz
Helper II
Helper II

Power BI Report Server=SSRS+Power BI Report

johncpratt
Advocate II
Advocate II

@MarkSL, I will answer what I can from your questions.  I am deploying Power BI Report Server (PBIRS) to my production environment tonight after several months in test.