Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

micheledubose
Resolver II
Resolver II

SSRS report subscription fails due to owner

Hello,

I have a few subscriptions created in Power BI Report Server. These subscriptions were created by a user who is no longer with the company. As a result, the subscriptions failed. As the Admin of Power BI Report Server, I was able to change the owner to another user and ran the subscription successfully. It seems only an Admin can change the owner of an existing subscription. However, for new subscriptions, the Admin nor non-admins can change the owner.  Is there a way for non-admins to change the owner of an existing or new subscription? Is there a way for the Admin to change the owner of a new subscription?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@micheledubose wrote:

Hi @d_gosbell ,

The non-admin users are assigned to a custom role which has the "Manage all subscriptions" privilege.  When those users attempt to change the default owner of an existing subscription, they get an error: "The permissions granted to user 'X' are insufficient for performing this operation."

OK so maybe changing the owner is a special operation that only an admin can do

@micheledubose wrote:

As far as changing the default owner of a new subscription, if the person who creates the subscription is always the original owner, then I will always have this issue.  I would like the owner of a subscription to be a service account because that account never expires. So, if a user is no longer with the company, the subscription will not fail.