Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MartinB_Nbg
Regular Visitor

Report Server architecture and licensing question

Hi,

I'm familiar with the Power BI cloud service, but I'm new to Report Server on prem. I read this capacity planning whitepaper from Microsoft, but I'm still confused whether the SSAS shown there is part of Report Server or just an optional data source and which pieces of software need seprate licenses or share the same license.

Our szenario:
- Every piece of software that can be separated on a different machine shall be separated on a different machine so that we can scale specifically as needed and to avoid interference.

- With priority on the requirement above, minimum applicable licensing costs should be chosen.
- We only use on prem servers in the same own data center, so additional network latency from distributing software on different machines should not be an issue.

- All machines have 8 cores, but for the beginning, we only want to license as few cores as necessary to run the software on each machine. If a license applied to unlimited cores, of cause we would utilize all available cores on a machine.
- Users build reports using Power BI Desktop in import mode. (That we need a Pro license for the publisher is clear and out of scope of this question.)
- Data sources include Microsoft SQL-Server OLTP DB (already existing, already licensed for 8 cores with SQL-Server Enterprise 2019 with Software Assurance), Informix OLTP DB (accessed by Power BI through ODBC driver) and Excel files. Files are stored on a network share and are accessible for the Power BI servers.
- Report Server licensing shall come from SQL-Server license, not from Power BI Premium. No cloud services needed.

ReportServer3.png

Specifically, I'm looking for answers to these questions: