cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Report Builder Data Set Query Designer Date Filter Expression

Hi,

In the report builder I am using the Query Designer to build tables. But I can't figure out the "filter expression" to show anything created after 5/1/2020. I've tried normal DAX expressions but I keep getting errors(I'm new at them so I could have gotten them wrong). I have been using "Contains" under the field "Operator" and tried using excel forumals <5/1/2020. Im just not getting it right. Any help would be appreciated.

Side question. Is there a DAX expression tool maker?

Thanks,

Jeremy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Report Builder Data Set Query Designer Date Filter Expression

@jdivina wrote:

I have been using "Contains" under the field "Operator" and tried using excel forumals <5/1/2020.

Contains is not correct. It will be looking for the literal text "<5/1/2020" in your date column.

If you use the "Range (Exclusive)" operator and then just pick a start date it will produce a query that returns everything after the specified date.

2020-05 report builder date range.png

Not really, the query builder is the closest tool that does this. 

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
Highlighted
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Report Builder Data Set Query Designer Date Filter Expression

@jdivina wrote:

I have been using "Contains" under the field "Operator" and tried using excel forumals <5/1/2020.

Contains is not correct. It will be looking for the literal text "<5/1/2020" in your date column.

If you use the "Range (Exclusive)" operator and then just pick a start date it will produce a query that returns everything after the specified date.

2020-05 report builder date range.png

Not really, the query builder is the closest tool that does this. 

View solution in original post

Helpful resources

Announcements
Super Users of the Quarter - Q2 2020