Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

billvoorhees22
Regular Visitor

PowerBI Report Server Costs

Hi, I have seen LOTS of discussions on the topic of PowerBI Report Server Costs;  What I need to zero in on is:  "Power BI Report Server is available through Power BI Premium or as a Software Assurance (SA) benefit for customers with active SQL Server EE with SA licenses. Contact your Microsoft representative for more information"  I take this to mean:  IF you have SQL Server EE and SA you get Power BI Report Server-I just don't see what the add on costs are if any.  Also, I have setup the Power BI Report Server and I can publish straight to it;  I understand the free version is supposed to block this...does this mean "in use" I'm really a Pro User?  One final question:  Must the Power BI Report Server run on the same server as EE?

5 REPLIES 5
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

If you have SQL EE with SA then you own PBRS. Since publishing to PBRS is a Desktop function, there is no licensing restriction enforced. However, to be compliant, you need to have a Pro license to publish to PBRS. Free users can view reports but are technically not permitted to publish.

Not sure about your last question. Because of the way that SQL Server is licensed per core and such these days, I'd expect that it is technically supposed to be on the same server...?

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...