Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Power BI URL access permission

Hi All,

I am new to Power BI. 

I have installed the trial version of PowerBI Report server and Power BI desktop.

After installation and configuration, I have the PowerBI url like this http://server/BI

Now everyone in my organization is able to access this URL. How can I restrict anonymous access to this url? (I am able to limit folder level access from Manage Folder - Security)

Appreciate your assistance here.

Thanks,

John

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous wrote:

What does this below security setting do? 

johnjustus_0-1668173194982.png

That controls who can see the root level Home folder. Setting permissions at that level effectively controls who can access the URL. If people do not have access they will not see any content when accessing the base URL

If "everyone" can see all the content in the home folder then that would meant that you have added "everyone" as local admins on the server. Content Manager is the highest level of access which means that people can add/remove content and control permissions. You should remove unnecessary people from the local admin role on the server.

Normally I will add the "Domain Users" group for the domain as a "Browser" for the home folder. The create a number of top level folders (eg. Finance, Marketing, Sales ) and set different permissions on those.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-henryk-mstf
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

Whether the advice given by @d_gosbell  has solved your confusion, if the problem has been solved you can mark the reply for the standard answer to help the other members find it more quickly. If not, please point it out.

Looking forward to your feedback.

Best Regards,
Henry

Anonymous