Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

johnlo109

Power BI Report Sever

Hi Community,

I'm new to Power BI Report Server. So far I have configured the database, apply the web service url & use built-in  account-network service. When using the portal link http:/powebi:80/report. I'm getting the following error. This is actually an upgrade install but I also try the clean reinstall unfortunately the error persist. Any Idea ?

file.jpeg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

This error indicates that your report server database contains encrypted content, but the application layer has the wrong encryption key.

There are a number of possible solutions:

1. If you have a backup of the encryption key you can go into the report server configuration tool and restore it
  2. If you don't have a backup you can go into the report server configuration tool and just delete the encrypted content (this is an option under the Encryption Keys section). You will loose any stored passwords, but your other content should remain.
  3. You could uninstall and re-install, but you would need to also go into your SQL Server and delete the old ReportServer and ReportServer_Tempdb databases (assuming they don't have anything in them that you need) before re-installing 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

This error indicates that your report server database contains encrypted content, but the application layer has the wrong encryption key.

There are a number of possible solutions:

1. If you have a backup of the encryption key you can go into the report server configuration tool and restore it