Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

bme65
Frequent Visitor

Power BI Report Server - design question - write to file system, or schedule report result.

I am new to Power BI and have been asked to choose a BI tool that meets our project requirements.

There is one part of the requirement that it is not clear how to do in Power BI Report Server. 

What is best solution to allow the user to confirm their report request, and then just create report at either a later time, or send to file system. 

It's the 3rd step below I need recommended method/approach:
1. I created a dashboard that drills down to a report that contains all the parameters that the user selected in dashboard. This is a 'request report'.
2. user confirms that this is the data they are interested in
3. The report is to be created but not displayed back to the user. The report should be created on a file system, preferably a csv,. 
The most important part is for the user to request on the dashboard the 'referral report' based on their filtered criteria, and for the report to be generated and sent to a file location daily. The user cannot see their report on-screen, merely a request. This is a security measure. We will drop them the report file at a secure location, daily.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-luwang-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @bme65 ,

About how to create paginated report ,you could refer Microsoft official article:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/report-server/quickstart-create-paginated-report

But according filter ,to send different  path link ,In my opinion, it can't be done, my idea is to create multiple reports, subscribe to different share paths and configure different user access rights to the shared folders.