Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

New item role does not appear in report server portal

Hello - I have installed Power BI Report Server May 2020.  Using SSMS I connected to the report services and created a test role. 
From within the portal, when I manage a report or folder under security, the new role does not appear in the list. 
I am a system administrator and I have re-started the Power BI Windows sevice on the server.  Thoughts? 

Thank you.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @Anonymous ,

yes and that is the thing ;).

You think there is nothing but If you have installed the Report Server (see under Windows if you can find the configuration manager) on B than install SSMS on this machine and try to reach the reporting service - you will see this will work. 😉 

Best,

Kathrin

If this post has helped you, please give it a thumbs up!
Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

View solution in original post

Hi @Anonymous , the Report Server is a tricky little thing ;).

Best 

Kathrin 

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
KBO
MVP

Hi @Anonymous ,

sometimes it can help if you start the service (Power BI Configuration Manager) new 🙂 that was in may case the solution. But regulary as @d_gosbell  is should be appear without doing anything.

Best,

Kathrin

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Kathrin,

Thank you for your suggestion.  I did try stopping and starting the Power BI service from within Configuration Manager but no change.  The new roles are still not visible.  

Jeff

Hi @Anonymous ,

here is also a little Click-Tip how to do it:

New Roles.gif

Make sure your on the machine where the Report Server is hostet.

Best,

Kathrin

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Kathrin,