Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rax99
Helper V
Helper V

Filtering reports based on user accounts - Authenticaion

Hi,

Firstly apologies as I am new to this admin side of reports developing. 

So I have a question around authentication for individual users to a report.

My report currently contains a filter which filters a performence based report on a specific agent. My report will need to be deployed to a report server or embedded into a SharPoint webpart in order for the agents/users to consume.

My question is, how do I add a level of security to my report to allow users to view filtered report based on thier account. So what I essentially need is Agent1 to view the report that has been specifically filtered to his/her agent ID. Is there a way of passing in the user windows/powerbi credentials into the report layer and filter the report based on their userid?

Right now my report has every agentID listed where it is filterable/selectable based on the desired agent. This is obviously a security concern as agents should only be able to view their own data/performence,

What is the best method/solution of applying this authentication model?

3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

This very much depends on how you are getting your data for these reports (what type of data sources)

So currently I extract the data from a SQL Server Db, rather than a direct query. Its also woth mentioning the agents do not have any user permissions to the underlying Db, so im unable apply the authentication at the Db layer.

Anonymous
Not applicable

In that case your options are pretty limited.

Right now you can only really filter in the way you are suggesting using row level security. There is support for RLS in imported data sets on the cloud service but not for the PBI-SSRS product