We are hoping to clean up the numerous duplicate Power BI Workspaces that were created when everyone was allowed to create a workspace on a whim. We did it to one Workspace and found out that it deleted the entire 365 group and associated sharepoint and other files they wanted to keep.
Has anyone else run into this problem?
Is there a way to simply delete the workspace but keep the Microsoft 365 group and everything that goes along with that?
I've been looking into this and it seems if you have converted the O365 group into a Team, the Team and SharePoint will still remain if you delete the Power BI workspace. However it looks like the Outlook group will be deleted, as will the Stream group.
This would definitely be a change from last fall, because I deleted workspaces that were created by O365 groups that were auto-created by making a Team in Teams. And all of those Teams were DEFINITELY deleted. I think I lost a couple years of my life when I found that out.
Luckily infastructure was able to restore them. But I definitely almost had a heart attack.
I think in the hopefully near-ish future, you can convert the old workspaces to the new workspace experience and then delete them. At least this is what I am hoping with happen.