Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

T0_0H
Frequent Visitor

Correct URL Creation in DWH Dim v Fact tables

Hi All, 

I'm relatively new to the DW & Reporting game, but I’m hoping you can share some wisdom with me. 

I'm looking to include URLs within a Datawarehouse to be used in PowerBI Reports. The body of the URL will be much the same but change based on the unique system id, e.g. order number, or username. 
When I see reference to these online it all seems to be created via measures in the PowerBI Desktop and just popped in wherever.
My question is when creating these within a DWH model, should they be created within the dimension table or the fact tables?

My gut says the Dimension table, but I'm not sure. 

Thank you!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
HashamNiaz
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @T0_0H !

You are correct, you need to create those URL columns in Dimension tables. Also make sure when you are in Power BI Desktop, you categorized these URL columns as Web / Image URL base don your scenario.

Regards,

Hasham

View solution in original post

Icey
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @T0_0H ,

If you are creating measures, it doesn't matter which table you create in. Because measures won't have different behavior if they are located under an unrelated table. For measures, the calculation would run regardless of the table that they are in. 

If you want to create columns, it is important to select the right table, based on your requirements and data structures.

Some documents may help you:

Tutorial: Create your own measures in Power BI Desktop - Power BI | Microsoft Docs;

Tutorial: Create calculated columns in Power BI Desktop - Power BI | Microsoft Docs;

Calculated Columns and Measures in DAX - SQLBI.

Best Regards,

Icey