Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Automate Permission Management in Power BI Report Server (May 2020)

Hi Team,

I am new to powerbi as well as to their API's and looking for help/guidance to automate the permission management. My requirement is to provide the access to the Windows user comming from AD to one of the report specific folder when published in the Report server. Is it possible?

I also looked into API's but do not know which one to use (https://app.swaggerhub.com/apis/microsoft-rs/PBIRS/2.0 )?

Many thanks in advance for all the help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

I think you'd probably use https://app.swaggerhub.com/apis/microsoft-rs/PBIRS/2.0#/Folders/SetFolderPolicies but it's probably also easier to use the Powershell tools than to call the REST endpoint directly.

However it depends what the logic is to map the user to a folder. I tend to avoid adding individual users to folder permissions if at all possible and instead we get AD groups created and add the group to the folder permissions. Then everyone in a given department or team just needs to be added to that AD group and they get access to all the reports they need. It's usually much easier than assigning permissions to individual users and if someone moves teams/departments it's just a matter of removing them from one group and adding them to another in AD.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

I think you'd probably use https://app.swaggerhub.com/apis/microsoft-rs/PBIRS/2.0#/Folders/SetFolderPolicies but it's probably also easier to use the Powershell tools than to call the REST endpoint directly.