Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

OCK
Frequent Visitor

indexed time series

Hi All

I'm a complete newbie to DAX, while much more experienced with VBA and MySQL. I'm working with percentage growth time series data, sequentially stored in a table by Identifier, Date and Return. Return is transformed from a percentage figure to a factor in the SQL query already (Return/100+1 As Return). To create and indexed time series chart I have entered the following DAX code as a measure:

ReturnTmp =

CALCULATE (

PRODUCT ( Table1[Return] ) * 100 ;

FILTER ( ALL ( Table1 ); Table1[Date] <= MAX ( Table1[Date] ) );

VALUES ( Table1[Identifier] )

)

A - This works fine, but I'm struggling to have the first Return value in the chart set to 100 while all following returns in the time series remain as calculated above. I've tried several approaches with IF , IF &&, and COUNTROW statements, but no success.

B - Once the measure works I have to include it into the final measure by:

ReturnCum =

AVERAGEX ( Table1;Table1[ReturnTmp])

As I understood, there is not possibility to have it in one single measure. Is this correct?

Thank you very much for help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
OCK
Frequent Visitor

Anybody who's interested, here's the solution after a few hours of try and error:

ReturnTmp =
CALCULATE (  
           IF ( COUNTROWS ( Table1 ) = 1  ;  100  ;  PRODUCT ( Table1 [Return]  ) * 100  ) ;
           FILTER ( ALL ( Table1 ) ;  Table1[Date] <= MAX (Table1[Date]  )  )  ;
)

This is a rather standard chart in financial analysis for plotting return series.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
BhaveshPatel
Community Champion
Community Champion

For Question A

See the screenshot, You can adjust the settings shown in the screenshot in Analytics pane.scalesgraph.PNG

For Question B