Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Sam
Regular Visitor

how to export data to excel from Power BI Published Report

Hello,

I apologise in advance as I am very new to PowerBI, so I may not be making sense but I will do my best.

We were given a report through email, it shows up as a web link. When we click on it, it opens in a regular web browser window (not in the PowerBI webapp). I think this means it's a published report. We would like to export info this to excel, but I don't see the 'eclipse' where the export option is as it's not opening in PowerBI. The establishment that sent us the report says it will export to Excel, but they won't tell me how, they want to charge is $160/hr for 4 hours for some training. This seems ridiculous, we are not going to pay that rate. Is there a way to take the link sent and open it in PowerBI webapp or Desktop? We have a Pro account. I tried using the get data from web feature in the Desktop version and it did not display properly, we could only see a few of the column titles but no data. I read on user forums that it is not possible to export published reports to Excel, but they are very insistent that it will work. How can I confirm that this is actually a published report? I get the feeling these guys are out to lunch and would like to confirm. Please let me know if I need clarify things, I know this is pretty scattered. 

Thanks,

Sam

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

If this was published via "Publish to Web" then I believe that functionality does not exist.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
The Definitive Guide to Power Query (M)