Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ebrodie
Frequent Visitor

date filtering usint 2 dates in the table

I am new to PowerBI and loving it so far

I have a simple task list with start and close dates – at least it seems simple.  I would usually use multiple OR conditions in an MS Access query

I want to filter the records to show all tasks that are open within a date range

if I want to see tasks between 9/1/22 and 9/30/22, I want to see all tasks where:

• Opened anytime and closed within the date range
  • Opened before 9/30/22 and still open
  • Opened before 9/30/22 and closed after 9/30/22
Task start dateclose dateDISPLAY
17/1/229/15/22YES
28/1/22 YES
38/1/2210/15/22YES
48/1/228/25/22NO
510/15/22 NO

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
jbwtp
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

This returns a table which you can feed to measure, something like:

Measure = SUMX(Filter('ve2doTaskALL', ([ClosedDate] > Date(2022,9,1) && [closeddate] < Date(2022,9,30)) || ([startdate] < Date(2022,9,30) && (ISBLANK([closeddate]) || [ClosedDate] > Date(2022,9,30)))), [Revenue])

Cheers,

John

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
jbwtp
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi @ebrodie,

In Power Query you can use OR/AND in PBI in the same fashion as you would do in MS Access:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMlTSUTLXN9Q3MgIyLPUNTSGsSNdgpVidaCUQ2wImrYAkYYwsYWiAodEEWd5C3wgq7ecPljVF1aQAlYkFAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [#"Task " = _t, #"start date" = _t, #"close date" = _t, DISPLAY = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Task ", Int64.Type}, {"start date", type text}, {"close date", type text}, {"DISPLAY", type text}}),