Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

rdops
Helper III
Helper III

Visualise two different data sets in one chart

Hi all,

I am totally new to PBI, have been exploring it for approx 1 month now and still have very limited knowledge.

I hit a wall while trying to combine/visualise  two sets of data from different data sources in one single chart.

What I am trying to achieve: compare the total hours of leave entered in two separate systems. 

Problem is, the only common element between these two data sources is the employee ID. I can get the total hours discrepancy between the two systems but I cannot separate them by month. Both data sources have months but when I pick 'month' as a slicer, one of the data total doesnt show properly. I guess because the 'month' reference is not common to both of them.

Is there a way to resolve this? Is really important that I see (on a monthly basis) the discrepancy between hours entered in both systems. 

Thanks in advance,

Rdops.

5 REPLIES 5
v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @rdops 

Is this problem sloved? 
If it is sloved, could you kindly accept it as a solution to close this case?
If not, please let me know.

Best Regards
Maggie

Hi Maggie, 

It didnt work for me. Not sure if I did something wrong but even after following all these steps I still couldnt see the two sets of data separately. I ended up rebuilding the report and created a new column with a lookvalue formula to match the employees names, but for some reason, even with the employees being consistent across both systems, data from only one systems gets updated when I select the month. I guess you can close the case. I will play around with the dates/months now and if I cant find a solution I will open another thread specific to dates.

v-juanli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi Maggie,