Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Using Gateway: Email Security Question

Hello - 

I am using the PowerBi Pro License through my employer and thus have my corporate email address connected. I have read that to use the Gateway (connecting to on-prem), it is required to use a powerbi/microsoft email address.

1. Should I be concered that I am connecting to internal corporate sharepoint sites using my PowerBi email-connected gateway? I would assume keeping everything aligned with the corporate email is a best practice... Since sharepoint is not on-prem, we can consider a local excel file for this example.

2. Is there a way to use my corporate email instead? If not, how can I set up a powerbi email specifically for my gateway usage?

Please feel free to provide ample context as I am relatively new to this.

4 REPLIES 4
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Anonymous 

It's important to learn which types of email addresses that you can use to sign-up for Power BI:

• Power BI requires that you use a work or school email address to sign up. You can't sign up using email addresses provided by consumer email services or telecommunication providers. This includes outlook.com, hotmail.com, gmail.com, and others. If you don't have a work or school account, learn about alternate ways to sign up.

• You can sign-up for Power BI with .gov or .mil addresses, but this requires a different process. For more info, see Enroll your US Government organization in the Power BI service.

The on-premises data gateway acts as a bridge to provide quick and secure data transfer between on-premises data (data that isn't in the cloud) and several Microsoft cloud services. If you want to connect to files in sharepoint sites, you may connect to them in Poweer BI service directly.

d1.png