Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kaushikhalvadia
Regular Visitor

Use single Slicer to filter rows for multiple date column

I am a beginner at Power BI and currently facing an issue while developing a report.

I have created SQL query which pulls information from multiple tables and the query returns around 10-12 columns of which two are Date and FirstOrderDate columns.

Example:

kaushikhalvadia_0-1668593202020.png

On Report, I will use a single slicer(Between types). 

When the user selects any date range from the slicer at that time I want the report to filter records based on both columns(Date and FirstOrderDate)

8 REPLIES 8
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @kaushikhalvadia ,

I'm detecting an XY Problem here.

Can you give details around what metrics/values you want to be able to calculate in your report please? It's most likely that you just need to create the correct relationships and measures, rather than worry about how your table gets filtered.

Pete

Now accepting Kudos! If my post helped you, why not give it a thumbs-up?

Proud to be a Datanaut!

Hi @BA_Pete 

I need this filter to be applied and I'll use COUNT to get the number of orders within that date range. The SQL query which I already have created has OrderNumber column along with Date and FirstOrderDate so I'll use COUNT to check the total number of orders.

Example.

kaushikhalvadia_0-1668595584396.png

Thanks

Ok, I think I have an idea of what you're after.

1) Create a calendar table and mark it as a date table. There's thousand of articles of how to do this online so I'll not go into detail here. FWIW, I would recommend using an M code calendar and putting it into a Dataflow, so it's always accessible to future reports.

2) Relate your calendar table to your fact table in the model as follows: