Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SHS
Resolver I
Resolver I

Uploading Power BI-files and Data-files to Sharepoint

Hello,

I'm currently investigating the possibilities for transferring all our data-files and power bi-report files to Sharepoint, so all our data will be stored online rather than having these offline. However, as I'm a bit new to Power BI, I was wondering if any of you have tried this and may have some important aspects (pros and cons) that I should consider before doing this? 

Currently, we have tried to upload a power bi-report file (pbix) to Sharepoint and published this on Power BI Online, without any further trouble, but are yet to check potential security issues. 

Hope some can provide valuable insights!

3 REPLIES 3
v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @SHS ,

I have a little confused about your scenario.

It seems that you want to upload the data files and pbix to SharePoint Online.

As I kown, if you upload the pbix in SharePoint online, you cannot open it online, you need to download it and then open it with Power BI Desktop.

In additon, if you use the data file which is uploaded in SharePoint online as data source in Power BI, you don't need to configure the data gateway to refresh it as it is online source.

If you need any other help, feel free to ask.

Best  Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi @v-piga-msft Cherry, 

The scenario may also be badly explained, so no wonder if you're confused. As I'm pretty new with the system I had some difficulty in explaining it as easily as possible. 

However, based on your reply it seems that you understand, what I want to do, so that's perfect!