Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ketilyv
Frequent Visitor

Unable to connect to local mysql database keyword not supported

I'm new to Power BI, and I try to connect to my local mysql database. I get the following error message (after giving the server and the database name): "Unable to connect. We encountered an error while trying to connect. Details: "Keyword not supported. Parameter name: integratedsecurity"

Hope somebody has a solution!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello Lydia,

by showing my case to some fellow programmers, they helped me finding a solution: Instead of putting "localhost" or the IP-adress (127.0.0.1) as server name, I simply put the pc name (as registered by Windows), In MySQL Workbench, we checked "Server status", and there this name is given under the "host" category. But thanks for your effort anyway!

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @ketilyv,

Are you able to connect to MySQL database through MySQL workbench? If there is no issue with using MySQL workbench, please use same connections parameters in Power BI Desktop and also add port number with server name to connect to MySQL.

Thanks,
Lydia Zhang

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hello Lydia, thanks for answering. Yes, the database works fine from the Mysql Workbench. What I don't quite understand form your answer is exactly where should I add the port number, and also how do I find this number in the first place? As I explained, I have not even come to the credentials (user/password) dialog, it stops with the error message I get after entering the server name and database. (Here I use "localhost" as server name.)

ankitpatira
Community Champion