Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The ultimate Microsoft Fabric, Power BI, Azure AI & SQL learning event! Join us in Las Vegas from March 26-28, 2024. Use code MSCUST for a $100 discount. Register Now

Anonymous
Not applicable

Transforming and loading multiple excel sheets with different tab names in a folder

Hi all!

I'm a newbie to Power BI (3rd week of use). I'm working with a set of data that consists of multiple excel files where each worksheet tab represents a different event's profit & loss statement. The P&L format in each worksheet is the same and is consistent; what is not the same is the different tab names. My ideal goal is to be able to put all these files in a folder path and have Power BI transform the P&L formatting into a Power BI appropriate format and append the worksheets into one combined query.

I thought I could create a series of steps modeled off these two tutorials to complete this goal, but I keep failing at duplicating the transformation across the different excel files I have:
https://blog.crossjoin.co.uk/2018/07/09/power-bi-combine-multiple-excel-worksheets/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9sfCDCpWTfc

The main error seems to be that while I can individually and manually transform a particular file and all the different worksheets in that file. I can't figure out how to have Power BI automate that transformation to other excel files with their different worksheet names listed.

Is there any recommendations for how to achieve my goal? I am still learning M code, how functions and parameters work, so I am eternally grateful for any/all advice. I feel like my inability to make this happen is due to my lack of knowledge. Thanks in advance.

2 REPLIES 2
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

that really depends on your setup

1) are there other sheets in the file? if not you could just fetch the first sheet, like here

let