Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Template using excel files

Hello,

I am new to power bi and just now learning about templates.  I have imported a few csv files into my project.  I now want to be able to export a template so that anyone in my comany can import their data and get the same visuals that I have set up.  My issue is that I have set up a parameter, but when I try to enter in a new data file in the template it loads the data that the template was created from.  

How do you set up a template that lets you import in the data that you want?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous 

Or follow the document below

https://www.seerinteractive.com/blog/how-to-create-a-power-bi-template/

As tested, it works.

Please uncheck the "required" option and use parameter in your connection query.

Then close&&apply, go to report view, creat visuals.

when save, select "save as "->***.pbit

Capture5.JPG

Best Regards
Maggie
Community Support Team _ Maggie Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

this mainly depends on where you store your CSV files and how you told Power BI to access them.

If you stored them in your personal documents folder then other users will have to modify the data source settings to point to their personal folder.  If you stored them in a commonly accessible OneDrive then the template will work as is with the same data.

In any case you may just need to educate your user how to modify the data source settings.

Anonymous
Not applicable