Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

JR_Cary
Regular Visitor

Splitting, Summing and Reformatting all in the same cell

Hi All. I'm a beginner user trying to do what I feel is advanced level user type work but I'm stuck with it so..... 

My problem. I am building a table using an xlxs file. The "Date" field is a custom formatted cell (hh:mm:ss) in excel which gives me values that look like "00:07:47"  and that is what I expect. This is a field for duration (Test times). When the excel file is imported into BI and I am working on it in the Power Query editor, it changes the format to "12/31/1899 12:07:47". I have been unsuccessful in every attempt to reformat that into a type that doesn't give me errors, and allows me to use a calculable field (average test times, etc). I need to be able to show average test duration in hh:mm:ss. 

Also, to add to my problem, the original file has multiple duration entries.

So, I have an original excel file that looks like this: 

0:00:10
0:08:11
00:04:42/00:04:12/00:05:21/00:04:47/00:11:26
0:01:51
0:06:39
0:00:10
0:09:21
00:01:22/00:17:07
0:10:51

But when imported into BI/Transform data, it ends up looking like this: (no this isn;t the same data just an example)

12/31/1899 12:07:57 AM
12/31/1899 12:10:32 AM
12/31/1899 12:09:06 AM
00:22:54/00:14:39
00:30:30/00:08:04
12/31/1899 12:08:16 AM
00:04:42/00:04:12/00:05:21/00:04:47/00:11:26

So my problems are two fold. I need to somehow sum all of the duplicate values into one value, then split out and convert the date/time values to the hh:mm:ss duration (so a date/time value of 12/31/1899 12:08:16 AM would look like 00:08:16. 8 minutes, 16 seconds duration). 

Maybe I'm trying to overcomplicate this. Maybe what I want to do isn't possible..... but I'm going insane trying to figure it out. 

Can anybody please help me?!