Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

henrikbjerre5

SQL-statements from Excel into Power BI

Hi all

I'm new to Power BI and have a question regarding SQL-statements.

In our organisation we have an Excel spreadsheet with a Pivot-table, that connects to a database. I'm not an expert in SQL, but I just want the same data that I get into my Excel spreadsheet into Power BI instead, so I can visualize my data.

To eamplify, I have attached the connection properties here. It's these data I want in Power BI.

Anybody that knows if this is possible? And anybody that can help?

Thank you very much in advance.

Best regards Henrik

Capture.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
sdjensen
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi,

It is possible to get data from a SQL database into Power BI Desktop - if you later want to upload your model to the Power BI Service you will need to setup a gateway to enable data refresh.

Perhaps this video can help you: https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/guided-learning/powerbi-learning-1-2-connect-to-data-sources-in-...

Basically what you need to do is:

1. Open Power BI Desktop and select Get Data

2. Select SQL Server as you source

3. Connect to the SQL Server / Database

4. Copy/Paste your select statement from Excel

5. Load the data into your model

/sdjensen

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
sdjensen
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi,

It is possible to get data from a SQL database into Power BI Desktop - if you later want to upload your model to the Power BI Service you will need to setup a gateway to enable data refresh.

Perhaps this video can help you: https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/guided-learning/powerbi-learning-1-2-connect-to-data-sources-in-...

Basically what you need to do is:

1. Open Power BI Desktop and select Get Data

2. Select SQL Server as you source