Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Running count starting over when the counted value is not present previous date

Hi guys,
I'm new to PBI and Power Query and I can't find a solution to the following problem. To put it in context I have a dataset showing daily items on stock. The data is generated almost every working day but sometimes there are random time gaps when no data is generated at all. The simplified data looks like this:

Product IDDate
A6.1.2020
B6.1.2020
C6.1.2020
A9.1.2020
B9.1.2020
C9.1.2020
A11.1.2020
B11.1.2020
A14.1.2020
B14.1.2020
C14.1.2020
A15.1.2020
B15.1.2020
C15.1.2020

I managed to create a "running count" column using grouping and add index based on this tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=camNMc1zaBc&t=189s) and I got the output shown in Table 1. As you can see, Product "C" was not present on 11/1/2020 but was present again on 14/1/2020 so the running count goes continuously on. The ouptut I need though, is the one shown in Table 2. I need the counting to start over anytime when product ID was not present the previous date and at least one product was.

together.png

Do you guys have any ideas? I will be sooo glad for any solution either if it's Power Query using raw data or DAX calculated column using the data with actual runnning count.

Thank you so much!

Honzik

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

you have to modify the code like so:

let
fnIdx = 
(myTable as table) =>
let
partition = Table.Buffer(myTable),
dates = AllDatesWthIndex,
    #"Merged Queries" = Table.NestedJoin(partition, {"Date"}, dates, {"Date"}, "Changed Type", JoinKind.LeftOuter),
    #"Expanded Changed Type" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Merged Queries", "Changed Type", {"Index"}, {"Index"}),
    Custom1 = Table.ToColumns(#"Expanded Changed Type"),