Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

amitksingh2003
Regular Visitor

Restrictions on size/number of records in Teradata SQL statement in advanced editor

Hi friends, I recently started learning about Power BI and trying to use to automate a task which takes huge manual effort.

I am done with most part of it except hitting an error while trying to retrieve some data from teradata database.

I have a list of payment reference numbers stored in a table named "BI_Data" and column name "Payment Reference Numbers". This column has some 37,000 odd values. I need to retrieve additional details from Teradata with reference to these payment reference numbers.

I am using a variable "PayRefNum" in advanced editor to get the list from table and format it per sql statement requirement for delimiter.

let
    PayRefNum= "'246532387" & Text.Combine(List.Distinct(BI_Data[Payment Reference Number]),"','"),
    Source = Teradata.Database("SERVER", [Query="SELECT FP.PRO_NBR,FP.SCAC_CODE,FP.WM_TRANS_MODE_CD,FP.CARRIER_NAME,FP.SHIP_DATE,FP.SHIPPER_NAME,FP.SHIPPER_CITY_NAME,FP.SHIPPER_STATE_CODE,FP.SHIPPER_POSTAL_CODE,FP.CNSGN_NAME,FP.CNSGN_CITY_NAME,FP.DEST_STORE_NBR,FP.FRT_PYMT_SEQ_NBR,FP.TOTAL_PAID_AMT,FP.PAID_DATE FROM US_WM_LDSS_VM.FREIGHT_PAYMENT FP WHERE FP.FRT_PYMT_SEQ_NBR IN (" & PayRefNum & "')", CreateNavigationProperties=false])
in
    Source

The query works fine when I pass limited number of values for payment reference numbers. However, I get error saying could not convert string to numericals when trying to pass all 37,000 odd payment reference numbers to the query.

When troubleshooting, I can see all the payment reference numbers are correctly loaded to the variable "PayRefNum". However, the values seems to get truncated in query statement.

PBI Error2.JPGPBI Error.JPG