Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

frw
Frequent Visitor

Request: Expression.Error: The Field of the record wasn't found

Hello. First time poster here. I'm fairly new to PowerBI but not to data manipulation in other languages, and I'm having an issue that I know should be fairly easy to figure out but can't quite wrap my head around. I've searched around a bit but haven't seen any answers that quite get at what I'm looking for.

TalkTimeHoldTime
26:32:5301:46:32

Essentially, I'm working with an imported csv that has several columns representing cumulative call durations in the format hh:mm:ss in text format. I can't use the "duration" type because many of these are longer than 24 hours, which causes an error. Because of this, I'd like to convert the time to minutes in a new column, splitting the text by delimiter and then doing math to get everything into minutes. 

When I invoke the following function in the editor, I get the correct values. 

= (sourceTable as table, columnName as text) =>

let
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(sourceTable, columnName, Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter(":", QuoteStyle.Csv), {"hours", "minutes", "seconds"}),
    #"Changed Type1" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Split Column by Delimiter",{{"hours", Int64.Type}, {"minutes", Int64.Type}, {"seconds", Int64.Type}}),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type1", "TimeInMinutes", each [hours] * 60 + [minutes] + [seconds] / 60),
    Calculation = Record.Field(#"Added Custom1"{0}, "TimeInMinutes")
in
    Calculation

When I try to add a new custom column to the existing table, however, I get the following error:

Column code:
= Table.AddColumn(#"Added Custom1", "TalkTimeMin", each fnTimeToMinutes(Source, [TalkTime]))

Error code: