Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Replace values and rename headers based on lookup table

Hi there, 

I hope I am posting this in the correct place, it is my first time on this forum. 🙂

I would like to create a function which replaces values in a column based on a 'lookup' table and then rename the column headers based on a different 'lookup' table.

I have the following lookup tables:

1) ReplaceValues - This table states the values I would like to replace in each column/table.

2) ReplaceHeaders - This table states what I would like the headers renaming too for each table.

ReplaceValues:

Table nameColumn nameOld valueNew value
Customer TableCustGroupAA-1
CustomerTableCustGroupBB-Cust
VendorTableVendGroupBB-Vend

ReplaceHeaders:

Table nameOld HeaderNew Header
CustomerTableCustAccCustomerAccountNumber
CustomerTableCustGroupCustomerGroup
VendorTableVendAccVendorAccountNumber
VendorTableVendGroupVendorGroup

The source tables look like this...

CustomerTable:

CustAccCustGroup
C001A
C002D
C003B
C004A

VendorTable:

VendAccVendGroup
V001A
V002C
V003B
V004B

I would like to write a function to first replace the values in the CustGroup column (CustomerTable) and VendGroup column (VendorTable) according to the data in the ReplaceValues lookup table.

And then rename the column headers in the CustomerTable and VendorTable according to the data in the ReplaceHeaders lookup table.

So I get a result which looks like this...

CustomerTable - results:

CustomerAccountNumberCustomerGroup
C001A-1
C002D
C003B-Cust
C004A-1

VendorTable - results:

VendorAccountNumberVendorGroup
V001A
V002C
V003B-Vend
V004B-Vend

I have tried to adapt various scripts I have found on the web, like in the link below, but had no luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated! 

Thank you in advance,

James