Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

marfor
Frequent Visitor

Replace null with average value of above/below value

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to the program and need some help:

In my Query Editor I have a table with say six columns. The first one is dates for a 30 day period and in the columns next to that are values of measurements of different substances taken on any date. Not all measurements are done each days, so in several columns I'll have several rows of null. I would like to either 1. replace those nulls with the average value of the closest row above and beneath that has a set value, or 2.  replace the nulls with the highest value from the closest row above or below that has a set value (this can vary within each column so fill up/down won't work)

Does anyone know if this is possible? 

Thanks in advance 🙂

7 REPLIES 7
v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @marfor ,

To understand your scenario better, please share some data sample and your desired ouptut so that we could give further advice.

In addition, do you want to achieve that only wiht power query or could accept dax?

If you only want to achieve that with power query, hope @ImkeF could give some advice.

Best Regards,

Cherry

Community Support Team _ Cherry Gao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

DAX will also be fine.

Example:

DATE:       MG          TG         OW

30/1         0,01         0,5         null

29/1         0,18         null        0,2

28/1         null          null        0,5

27/1         null          0,1         null          <---For MG here the null should be replaced with either 0,42 or 0,3(avrg.)

26/1         0,42         0,5          0,1

25/1         null          0,2         null