Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Replace null(s) in a list

I’m new to M language and I need help regarding converting JSON data using Power Query. As a whole, the process is working however when a “null” is encountered such as shown in the “list” view below, and the “Extracted Values” function is invoked, not all indexed rows (13) are included in the output string (only 12 rows are past to the string). Therefore, when the Split Column by Delimiter (;) function is invoked the data in the converted table doesn’t aligned properly under the respective headers.  To further complicate things, the nulls locations are random and can be more than one.

Question: Is there a way to replace all “nulls” with a value such as a -1?  This would retain all 13 rows in the transformation process.  I have tried a few of the “list” functions but I could not get any to work… 

Any examples would be greatly appreciated!

Example list view:

Power Query List View.jpg

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi!

The only replacement needed in your situation is {null, "NA"}, without quotes on null, and that's why your first code works and the second one doesn't.

Your function should work properly this way:

(others as list) =>

let

listA = List.ReplaceMatchingItems(others, {{null, "NA"}})

in

listA

I'm glad I could help you. See ya.

View solution in original post

Hi @Anonymous 

Because in Power query, null means null value type, "null" mean a text field which its value is "null".

In your example, your data example show null value type, so the query with {{"null", "NA"}} doesn't work.

Best Regards
Maggie
Community Support Team _ Maggie Li
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post