Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cathoms
Helper V
Helper V

Remove duplicate rows from a new merged query

Hello! I have two Excel worksheets that I am trying to join into a single query/dataset and I am getting duplicate rows that I can't seem to remove. I've tried this is both Power Query Excel and Power BI.

I have data for healthcare provider office visit coding. The goal is to compare the rates at which individual providers are utilizing particular codes with the average for their group and with their own use in the past. There are two types of office visits - new and established (refering to the patients). I tend to start building data models small and then scale up. Sometimes I use Power Query in Excel first, then copy queries into PBI. This isn't efficient but I am still learning.  Anywho, I started with Excel workbooks containing calendar year 2021 quarter one data. One workbook for established visits and one for new visits. In Power Query I removed all the columns I didn't need, etc. from each and then merged them into a new query. When I ExpandTableColumn I just keep the total new visits and freq of each visit type so I end up with columns for provider ID, name, speciality, group, and number of total visits and visits by type. There are 696 rows for the "Established" query, 611 rows in the "New" query, and 696 rows in the merged "All_Visits" query. Great!