Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Remove ALL Duplicates Entirerly

Hi, I'm a bit new to PowerQuery. I created an excel sheet that pulls in data from two other sheets. I want to combine them and remove ALL duplicate rows based on an ID# column. That and the original rows that were duplicated. The "remove duplicates" function leaves a set of the original data. I want it to leave only rows (ID#s) that had NO duplication. e.g. sheet 1 has 300,000 rows, sheet two has the same 300,000 rows PLUS 50,000 new ones. All have a unique ID#. I want to combine the sheets and load only the 50,000 new items.

Thanks for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PradipMCT
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi @Anonymous 

Let me rephrase what i understood, and then provide the solution. 

You have two data sets A and B. A has 300000 rows, B also has 300000 rows and a new set of data i.e. 50000 rows. You would like to filter the newly added records from table B. 

If my understanding is correct then below is the solution.

Import both A and B in separate queries. Now that you would like to see the remaining rows in Table B or new records in B, please select Query for table B and then follow the steps:

Select B Query --> Home --> Merge Queries / Merge Queries as New (if you want the data in a new table then select the second option) --> Select table A from the dropdown list --> Highlight the Unique ID# column in both the tables --> in the JOIN KIND select LEFT ANTI --> Click OK. 

You're sorted.

If you think this is the solution then please do mark it as a solution

Pradip Pardeshi

Microsoft Certified Trainer

Pradip's Youtube Channel

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
PradipMCT
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi @Anonymous 

Let me rephrase what i understood, and then provide the solution.