Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

L33
Frequent Visitor

Refresh from PBIX file fails - free account

I'm very new to PowerBI and currently have a free account, but I want to showcase what it can do with a view to getting Pro accounts for several users. 

I have created a dashboard in PowerBI Desktop, getting the data for it from a single Excel file. I can change the data held in that Excel file and Refresh in PBI Desktop without a problem. 

On PowerBI.com, I chose "Get Data" and selected the PBIX file that I'd created. This worked fine. However, I can't refresh the data on PowerBI.com. (So I'm changing what's held in Excel file, refreshing it in PBI Desktop and saving over the PBIX, then trying to update the web version looking to the same PBIX - this is after trial and error of a few different approaches.) When I try, it says my Personal Gateway is offline. 

I tried to install Personal Gateway, but it won't work and I gather that this is because I do not have a Pro account. 

Is there simply no way to create a PowerBI report and update it with new data without a Pro account..? I'm thrown by the pricing list that seems to indicate that refresh on a daily basis is free... But I could be reading that wrongly.

Without refresh ability, I could still update the PBIX file but upload it as if it was a brand new thing altogether and then delete the old one (so my 1GB allocation isn't used up too much), and then share that with everyone again (but all this seems to defeat the objectives a bit..)

5 REPLIES 5
PowerBIGuy
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident