Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

AnneL

Refresh Excel data model into PowerBI

Hi!

After hours of searching and trying I decided to come here for help. I have created a query in Excel, wich I have imported into the Excel data model. This data model is imported into PowerBI, where I created the connections and build a few dashboards. 

Now, I  have added more data (rows based on date) into the data model and would like to refresh this in PowerBI, so I do not have to import it again and rebuild the dashboard from scratch.

Does anyone know how to refresh an Excel data model in PowerBI.

I am new to PowerBI, so sorry if this is a stupid question, many thanks in advance!

Anne

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

There is no connection any more between your Excel File and Power BI. 

After you've imported it to Power BI, these files are independent from each other.

If you want to run one central model and consume it with different clients, you should publish the model in Power BI service and consume from there. Just update that model in the service to "push" all changes to the consuming models.

Imke Feldmann (The BIccountant)

If you liked my solution, please give it a thumbs up. And if I did answer your question, please mark this post as a solution. Thanks!

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- How to get your questions answered quickly -- How to provide sample data -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Nathaniel_C
Super User
Super User

Hi @AnneL ,

Did you originally bring the file in by selecting Excel? 

You should be able to either click on Refresh in Power BI the third picture, or edit queries and click on refresh in the Power Query Editor.  You would then click on Close and Apply as in the first picture.