Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

joooffice
Helper I
Helper I

Referencing another row in an power query if then else statement

I have my data as below and am trying to find a way in my query to reference another row but the row isnt always previous or next.

I'm trying to complete the Group column where empty fields are populated by the male adult in the same account.

ie Jack Bloggs is in account 123 with his parents Joe and Angela. Joe is the male adult in the account and is in group A so I want A to appear in the group column. Joe is 2 rows above Jack. 

in Account 125 Bob should show in group B but Bob is the row above Jason (the male adult)

in account 126 there is no male adult so the child barbara's group should stay blank

I'm relatively new to Power Query but used to if then else statements, its just the referencing that i'm struggling with. I then need to use the group column to further manipulate my data which is why i want to do it in power query.

Thanks!

Account ID

NameMember TypeGenderGroup 
123Joe BloggsAdultMA
123Angela BloggsAdultFB
123Jack BloggsChildM 
125Bob SmithChildM 
125Jason SmithAdultMB
126Susan LesserAdultFC
126Barbara LesserChildF 
127Claire PinkasAdultFA
127John PinkasChildM 
127Sam PinkasAdultMB
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
camargos88
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @joooffice ,

Try this mcode:

let