Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jbruewer
Helper I
Helper I

REST api request and loop by offset until no further records found

Hi,

i am facing the challange of requesting data from a REST service that limits the records by 250 without sharing how many records should retrieved at all. So i am not able to calculate in advance how often i've to call the api with the offset of 250.

I am looking for a solution to implement a List.Generate() until the last record has been read. I was wonder if i could loop until the record counts becomes 0.

I am pretty new in power bi, so don't judge me for my ugly code snippets 😉 But this is what i am currenctly expericen with:

my_list= List.Generate(
() => [offset = 250, offsetX = {0}],
each [offset] <> List.Count([offsetX]) ,
each [offsetX = List.Transform({},each Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://serverurl.com",
[RelativePath="/index.php?/api/api_url/" & "12" & " &limit=250&offset=" & ???,
Headers=[#"Content-Type"="application/json"]])))
]
),

maybe someone has already solved this challange and can share some snippets i sould use as well.

//joerg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
artemus
Employee
Employee

First, check the request metadata to see if it tells you how many records there are. 

E.g. 

let

webData = Web.Contents("https://..."),

webMetadata = Value.Metadata(webData)

in

webMetadata

For doing a while loop in power you can instead use recursive functions like:

let
   my_func = (startIndex) =>
      let
          webRequest = Web.Contents(...),
         results = ...,
         numRecords = ....,
         if numRecords = page_size then
             results & @my_func(startIndex + page_size)
         else
              results
in
   my_func(0)

Note the @ used for recursion

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
mahoneypat
Employee