Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

theBIbutler
Resolver II
Resolver II

Problems with personal gateway

Hi,

I've been having some issues with the Personal Gateway that I just can't seem to resolve hoping someone here can help....

I have the Gateway installed (multiple times! Latest version) and it is showing as running:

PBIGateway.png

The Data Management Gateway is started and connected:

PBIGateway2.png

On the Diagnostics tab I was able to connect to the SQL database that is my data source.

However in powerbi.com it just has the message that the personal gateway is offline:

PBIGateway3.png

I am a local admin and am enabled to logon as a service, have tried all sorts of things with opening ports etc but no joy...

Help!! 🙂

Cheers

Mark

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Promted by Microsoft I uninstalled and reinstalled as Administrator and it is now working, sure I did that at some point but must have mucked it up, anyway working now!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Are both the Data Management Gateway and the Power BI Personal Gateway installed on the same machine? If that is so, you need to get rid of the Data Management Gateway. That looks like the old O365 data management gateway in the second screen shot and my understanding is that you are not supposed to run both on the same box. Quite probably that doing so is causing Power BI some issues. I would uninstall the old gateway version and the Power BI Personal Gateway, reboot, re-install the Power BI Personal Gateway.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

Hi,