Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Problems importing PBIX by means of REST APIs

Disclaimer: I'm very new to Power BI and PowerShell!

I have been trying to import a report .pbix file to a workspace, by following the very detailed tutorial given here by Sirui Sun. To do so, I've been attempting to understand the following piece of code.  The .pbix file has to be encoded as form data, as explained in the reference for the create import API.

try {
        "== Importing $report_name to target workspace"
        $uri = "https://api.powerbi.com/v1.0/$target_group_path/imports/?datasetDisplayName=$report_name.pbix&nameConflict=Abort"

# Here we switch to HttpClient class to help POST the form data for importing PBIX
        $httpClient = New-Object System.Net.Http.Httpclient $httpClientHandler
        $httpClient.DefaultRequestHeaders.Authorization = New-Object System.Net.Http.Headers.AuthenticationHeaderValue("Bearer", $token.AccessToken);
        $packageFileStream = New-Object System.IO.FileStream @($temp_path, [System.IO.FileMode]::Open)

$contentDispositionHeaderValue = New-Object System.Net.Http.Headers.ContentDispositionHeaderValue "form-data"
	    $contentDispositionHeaderValue.Name = "file0"
	    $contentDispositionHeaderValue.FileName = $file_name

$streamContent = New-Object System.Net.Http.StreamContent $packageFileStream
        $streamContent.Headers.ContentDisposition = $contentDispositionHeaderValue

$content = New-Object System.Net.Http.MultipartFormDataContent
        $content.Add($streamContent)

$response = $httpClient.PostAsync($Uri, $content).Result

if (!$response.IsSuccessStatusCode) {
		    $responseBody = $response.Content.ReadAsStringAsync().Result
            "= This report cannot be imported to target workspace. Skipping..."