Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

HALEYSTODDARD
Frequent Visitor

Power Query - customer column if statement with list.contains and wildcard?

Hello All,

I'm still fairly new to Power BI, but I'm essentially trying to create a customer column to filter out customer's comments and flag them as a tracking issue. 

so for example, out of this list (pictured below) of customer comments the highlighted comment would be flagged as "transporation issue".

I've read some posts about not being able to use wildcards so I'm wondering if there is another workaround?

I came up with this but I know it's being taken literal and the comments are a free for all so anything goes. 

if List.ContainsAny({[Header Notes]}, {"Fedex", "fedex", "FEDEX", "tracking", "track", "not delivered", "no delivery"}) then "transportation issue" else "valid issue"

HALEYSTODDARD_0-1659545532935.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Vera_33
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

@HALEYSTODDARD 

It is literally working, your initial thought. Split your original column to a list, then transform to lower case, so you don't need all kinds of Fedex, compare the searchList and your original column. Paste the M code in Advanced Editor via Blank query, you will see the steps

Vera_33_0-1659592785950.png

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WqqioUHBLTUmtUKgEAoUqIFCK1YGIp+EQLylKTM7GJZ6Zl44sFQsA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Column1 = _t]),
    searchList={"fedex","track","tracking"},
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", each if List.Intersect({ List.Transform( Text.Split([Column1]," "), Text.Lower), searchList}) ={}then"valid issue" else "transportation issue" )
in
    #"Added Custom"