Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Power Query conditional filtering

Hi All,

I'm not an expert of PQ and M language, your help is much appreciated. 

In my dataset I have a data column where I need to filter for the last 3months of data, but if latest available date is: 2021-Dec-06

then I need data covering period: 2021-Sep 1 - 2021-Nov 30

In case data avaialble for the full month for example: latest available date is: 2021-Oct-31 then I will need data covering period: 2021-Aug 1 - 2021-Oct 31

I hope I could explain my problem clearly.

Thanks a lot for your help
Peter

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Please try this instead.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMtQ31DcyMDJUitWJVjLSN0ZwjPUNTRE8E30kDogJ5cUCAA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Date = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Date", type date}}),
    Custom1 = let maxdate = List.Max(#"Changed Type"[Date]) in if maxdate = Date.EndOfMonth(maxdate) then maxdate else Date.EndOfMonth(Date.AddMonths(maxdate, -1)),
    #"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Date] >= Date.StartOfMonth(Date.AddMonths(Custom1, -2)) and [Date] <= Custom1)
in
    #"Filtered Rows"

Pat

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Kudos are also appreciated!

To learn more about Power BI, follow me on Twitter or subscribe on YouTube.

@mahoneypa HoosierBI on YouTube

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

Here's one way to do it in the query editor.  To see how it works, just create a blank query, open the Advanced Editor and replace the text there with the M code below.

let