Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Goodkat
Helper I
Helper I

Power Query add suffix to column names except the first ones

Dear Power BI/ Power Query Community,

I am new to Power Query and now made my first steps in a data model to get away from extensive VBA (which I like a lot, though) and numerous VLookUp. Now I am struggling: I connect data from a .csv file. In that imported data I want to edit the datatype of all columns, except the first 9 columns. I managed to find a solution derived from various posts I read.

HeaderSet (previous step) ColumnsType = Table.TransformColumnTypes(HeaderSet,List.Transform(List.Skip(Table.ColumnNames(HeaderSet),9), each {_, type number}))

As the columns transformed do contain numbers of hours, but this is not depicted in the header, I want to also attach a suffix to these (all except the first 9) column names. I thought I just replicate what worked:

HeaderSet (previous step)

ColumnNames = Table.TransformColumnNames(List.Transform(List.Skip(Table.ColumnNames(HeaderSet),9), each _ & " hours")

But it does not work and I do not know yet, why. I will spent more time on threads and videos to learn about the commands I used in the successful datatype conversion. But if that does not work I would be very grateful if someone from the PowerQuery community could tell me how attaching a suffix to the column names of all except the first 9 columns is possible. That would be great! In the meantime I try to get more background on the commands above.

Thank you!

Best regards, Andreas

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Vijay_A_Verma
Super User
Super User

Use this

= Table.TransformColumnNames(Source,(x)=>if List.Contains(List.Skip(Table.ColumnNames(Source),9),x) then x&"_hours" else x)

View solution in original post

AlexisOlson
Super User
Super User