Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Please Help: Trying to encode/decode Access Token (Rest API)

Hi Folks,

I'm new to Power BI and was hoping I could ask someone over here for some advice.  I'm working with the Rest API.  And well, I've got most of what I need working within the Power Query when I hardcode an access token (retrieved from PostMan).  However, when I try to replicate the PostMan code and retrieve the key within PowerBI it fails.

If the value isn't hardcoded it returns an error about converting a value of type function to type logical.  I'm a bit at a lost.  Maybe I need to parse/decode the data being passed back?  PostMan does this automatically.  Any guidance or point of direction would be much appreciated! 

The snippet of code in question is the following:

GetPages = () =>
        let
            Source = 
                Json.Document(
                    Web.Contents(
                        "https://REMOVED/api/Token",
                        [ 
                            Headers = 
                                [
                                    #"Content-Type"="application/x-www-form-urlencoded" //,
                                ],
                            Content = Text.ToBinary("Username=REMOVED&Password=REMOVED&grant_type=password&Integrated=N&database=REMOVED&Client_Id=REMOVED=&client_secret=REMOVED",BinaryEncoding.Base64,Binary.Compress)                        ]
                    )
),

//This fails
            apikey = Source[access_token],

//This works (copied and pasted from PostMan
            apikey = "INSERT_POSTMAN_CODE",

POST MAN CURL DETAILS:
curl --location --request POST 'https://REMOVED/api/token' \
--header 'Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded' \
--data-urlencode 'Username=REMOVED' \