Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarkPalmberg
Kudo Collector
Kudo Collector

PQ Advanced Editor help for summing pivoted columns

Hi.

I'm just getting started with modifying steps in Power Query using the advanced editor. My first foray involves summing the columns that are the result of a pivot step that results in columns with variable column names and variable N of columns. Here's what my data looks like coming from the source:

object1.png

And here's the code from the advanced editor after I add the pivot step:

let
Source = Sql.Database(SOURCE),
#"Pivot FY" = Table.Pivot(Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source, {{"FISCALYEAR", type text}}, "en-US"), List.Distinct(Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source, {{"FISCALYEAR", type text}}, "en-US")[FISCALYEAR]), "FISCALYEAR", "FYAMOUNT", List.Sum)
in
#"Pivot FY"

I've been looking at this to try to work through this, and I feel like I'm close, but I'm getting errors trying to generate the range of columns I need to sum from the #"Pivot FY" step...basically the number of columns starting at 1.

Thanks so much for any push you can provide!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @MarkPalmberg ,

Based on your description, you can try this query:

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("ZdFLDoUgDIXhvTB2IC3PobIM4/63ce9Bk57iqMkXLH/wusIRtiC7CEYL9+YkRhbFUJaEM5UlQwpLgbSPuM0Vo7O0z55uclJhXuUfRYLm1FnQrO4rNIvbPAv7Ku/7nNYc3V1oTpVlNj8vNqzw7SHRwoLmvLPMZifUPKxQZRVxd6E5uTPN/uCwZtx+/wA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Category = _t, Year = _t, Sales = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Category", type text}, {"Year", Int64.Type}, {"Sales", Int64.Type}}),