Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bigsky5829
Frequent Visitor

Optimize Query with Large CSV

Hi,

I'm pretty new to power query, so forgive me if I'm missing something easy.

I have a source file (csv) that looks like this, over 1 million rows

bigsky5829_0-1618604398142.png

I'm trying to transform the data into this:

bigsky5829_1-1618604668002.png

Lastly, I have a variables table I maintain in Excel, so I can change a variable and refresh.

bigsky5829_2-1618604763201.png

First query: load csv (first table), join with variables to filter to the selected district:

let
    Source = Csv.Document(File.Contents("C:\Users\TristenHannah\Dropbox (USICLLC)\USIC\Capacity Model\tixlochrsmaster.csv"),[Delimiter=",", Columns=13, Encoding=1252, QuoteStyle=QuoteStyle.None]),
    #"Promoted Headers" = Table.PromoteHeaders(Source, [PromoteAllScalars=true]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Promoted Headers",{{"Cost Center District", type text}, {"Cost Center Supervisor Group", type text}, {"Employee", type text}, {"Employee ID", Int64.Type}, {"Week Ending Date", type datetime}, {"Closed Locates", Int64.Type}, {"Worked Hours", Int64.Type}, {"Closed Tickets", Int64.Type}, {"Employee Original Hire Date", type datetime}, {"Employee Job Title", type text}, {"Tenure (weeks)", Int64.Type}, {"Week of Year", Int64.Type}, {"TPH", type text}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Changed Type", "join", each "District"),
    #"Merged Queries" = Table.NestedJoin(#"Added Custom", {"Cost Center District", "join"}, Variables, {"Value", "Variable"}, "Variables", JoinKind.Inner),
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Merged Queries",{"Variables", "join"})
in
    #"Removed Columns"