Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Umakh27

Need to calculate how many courses users consumed

Hi Team,

I am new to Power BI and figuring out how to calculate how many courses have been consumed by users. Could you please help me to figure this out?

I have 10 courses and 25 users. Each can take any number of courses.

Course A

Course B

Course C

Course D

Course E

Course F

Course G

Course H

Course I

Course J

Umakh27_2-1666088357309.png

Now, I need to measure how many users took all 10 courses, how many took 9 courses, ,…. How many of them not taken any course (0 course)...

Result (graph) I am looking for in Power BI. Below graph was done on excel.

Here, 13 users took all 10 courses, 1 user took 4 courses, 1 user took 3 courses…

Umakh27_0-1666087882403.png

I may also need to check how many took 1 to 5 course

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

No problem. On reflection, as you need to materialise a 'Number of courses taken' column for your x-axis, I think it would be simplest to stick with what we've done already, but change a couple of small things.

Keep your original table as it is, and create a second, grouped table, that just references your original table as the source:

let
    Source = OriginalCourseTable,
    repBlankNull = Table.ReplaceValue(Source," ",null,Replacer.ReplaceValue,{"Course Name"}),
    addCourseTaken = Table.AddColumn(repBlankNull, "courseTaken", each if [Course Status] = "No Course Taken" then 0 else 1),
    groupRows = Table.Group(addCourseTaken, {"Email"}, {{"noofTaken", each List.Sum([courseTaken]), type number}})
in
    groupRows

This gives us the grouped table we had for your visual, and retains the original too.