Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

anvikuttu
Advocate I
Advocate I

Need help to get the conditional average in power query

Hi,

I am a newbie to PowerQuery. I need a M Query solution to the below problem

Suppose I have a Country column, Value column. Now I wanted to average the Value column not equal to 0, for each country in the country column.  Kindly see the below example.

anvikuttu_0-1600515234584.png

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you...

Vj

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, Fowmy's solution surely works. When your dataset consists of 2k+ rows, you might try this,

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WCg1W0lEyNFCK1YGxTRFsIyQ2VIk3SBiJDVPuDVfiGIrKNERmQ1Q7OyLEwWwgMxYA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Country = _t, Value = _t]),

#"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "Custom", each Table.Group(Source, {"Country"}, {{"grouped", each _}}){[Country = [Country]]}[grouped][Value]),
    Avg = Table.TransformColumns(#"Added Custom", {{"Custom", each List.Average(List.RemoveItems(List.Transform(_, Number.From), {0}))}})
in
    Avg

Thanks to the great efforts by MS engineers to simplify syntax of DAX! Most beginners are SUCCESSFULLY MISLED to think that they could easily master DAX; but it turns out that the intricacy of the most frequently used RANKX() is still way beyond their comprehension!

DAX is simple, but NOT EASY!

View solution in original post

Hello

the simplest thing is to include all in ONE Group-Step... the average except 0 and All rows (to keep the value-column for later)

Check it out

let