Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

TSmith0702

Need help please

Hello,

I am a complete newbie to Power Query so please bear this in mind. I have a query that's taking data from our CRM system to give me a £ figure for our sales in 'today'. Obviously our sales in 'today' is going to equal zero at the beginning of each day, and the list will have no rows. I am getting the error 'we cannot convert the value null to type list'.

Sorry if that's not clear, but is there any way around this please?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can you explain your process of loading the data little more?  Does the process still work for when you pull in sales from a day that isn't today? What does the data look like in the Source step of your applied steps? There may be a problem with how the value is being loaded. 

Here's an example with a sample JSON file (source: https://www.learningcontainer.com/sample-json-file/)

1) Load data, right-click list and select into table

hunterfeldman_0-1598362754689.png

2) Select expand icon and choose Expand to New Rows 

hunterfeldman_0-1598362979279.png

3) Click the expand icon again and select all the columns 

hunterfeldman_1-1598363053771.png

4) Result 

hunterfeldman_3-1598363098688.png

2.b) Alternatively, I could have selected Extract Values in Step 2 

hunterfeldman_4-1598363202942.png

3.b) Select no delimiter 

hunterfeldman_5-1598363258664.png

4.b) Which leads to this error

hunterfeldman_7-1598363292436.png

hunterfeldman_8-1598363308762.png