Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Yakov
Helper I
Helper I

Need help deciding if Power BI is The right solution

Need help deciding if Power BI is The right solution

I'm completely new to Power BI

My boss asked me to check it out.

We want to publish reports  to our users with data from our internal sql server databases.

If i understand  correctly, i would need a  gateway server to connect between my Internal network and the cloud.

questions/assumptions:

1. is the free license enough for users who wish to view the reports i publish
  2. user who publishes  reports i assume will need pro license
  3.   what are the options  for reports i want to automatically refresh (with new updated data from sql DB) say refresh every hour.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Yakov,

You need Azure AD, Power BI can only talk to Azure AD. You can review the following blog about how to get users to use Power BI.

https://powerbi.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/azure-active-directory-and-power-bi/

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Yakov,

Gateway is required when you set refresh for the dataset in Power BI Service, you can follow the guide in this article to add SQL server data source within gateway.

1. Users don't need Power BI account or license when you share the report by using "Publish to web" feature. But security is an issue in this case. If you share the report via "share dashboard" method, users would need Power BI pro license.

2. When publishing reports from Power BI Desktop to Power BI Service, it doesn't require pro license. Power BI Desktop is a free tool.