Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

alexrobe
Advocate III
Advocate III

MySQL Database access: What ist the most efficient way to minimize to database host load

Hi,

I am new to Database access via PowerBI, so please accept my apologies for raising a maybe newbie question.

I want to migrate my Excel imports currenly 7 files with production defect data from 4 mannufacturing sites to direct access to its originating databases.

All databases are currently hosted on the same server.

I have PowerBI 64 bit and mysql-connector-net-6.6.5.msi running.

Workflow:

1. I import all the defects lists (4 sites with 2 languages each, besides US, which is just english)
  2. I do some reformatting merging für each
  3. Then I merge all 7 tables into one IQM_World table

Sorry for german screenshots:

modelling1.jpg

PROBLEM:

During my test phase I ecnountered a heavy load on the database server lasting for more than 15 minutes, resulting in more or less inaccessability for its production purposes.

Though the basic tables from the MySQL database load rather fast (max. 10s each) the aggregating table seems like the load killer, as there is unterneath the info, that it is connecting to the MySQL-server

In order to minimize the pbix-filesize, I disabled the loading of all previous tables and just enabled the final IQM_World table

base Tables.jpgIQM_World makes DB-Connection.jpgIQM_World1_again from database.jpgIQM_World2_finished.jpg

NEED:

- I just want to pull the basic tables into Power BI

- all additional operations shall be done with the imported data and NOT reimported again

QUESTION:

- What do I have to set up, that my MySQL-interaction is minimized? (which table load settings - deactivate loading; include in updates?)